librarian · Public Library

Ex Libris…

I’ve been working in libraries in some capacity for fourteen years now. I’ve been a professional librarian for nine. I’ve been in library management for six.

My favorite question (aside from the ever-enduring “Are you a sexy librarian?” *sigh* online dating) is “Do you get to read all day?” My favorite reason interviewees want to work in a library is “to be surrounded by books and work in a relaxed environment.”

My family and friends are privy to my stories on the day-to-day life of a librarian. Some are outrageous, some are frustrating, some melt your heart. However, one comment kept coming up: “You should write a book about this!”

Sadly, I don’t think book-writing is on my horizon, but I thought I might be able to shed some light on what it’s really like to work in libraries through this blog. So enjoy as I tell you all of the things they don’t teach you in “library school.”

Leave a Reply

